YOUR TIME STARTS NOW

A couple of days ago when my friend asked me to write something for her blog, my initial reaction was excitement.  As I started writing I realized, I am passionate about writing, but I am not a writer! I was experiencing something akin to a ‘writers block’. Should I pen down something about my past experiences, hopefulness of the future, places seen and travelled etc. A mirage of thoughts rushed through my mind but I just couldn’t focus.

And then she continued to say something that really changed my thinking. She said ‘write something you want others to know’. And that did it! I recognized what I wanted everyone to know.

As the plethora of thoughts kept playing hide and seek in my mind it became apparent to me. Write about what I am currently doing and what is affecting me the most. Write about the most important and powerful reality that we keep forgetting about. We take it for granted, we misuse it and we don’t realize that it is the one certainty that is never coming back. And that is the ‘NOW’!

We spend myriad hours re-living joyful memories of the past, revisiting nooks and corners of the brain finding happiness in the comfort of past friendships. We spend endless days despairing about lost opportunities and brooding over failed love affairs. We spend countless months on wishful thinking, wondering what life would be like if we were a princess or if we married Mr. Perfect or if we earned enough and more money for a lifetime.

And in the process what do we forget to do? To LIVE!  NOW!

These thoughts inadvertently affect our moods, the way our day turns out and our whole perception of everyday events. We tend to forget that – this instant; this moment; this particular minute is MINE! It is mine to shape it the way I wish it to be!

Quoting Deepak Chopra, “In every moment of our existence, we are in that field of all possibilities where we have access to infinity of choices”. It is entirely in our hands to choose if, at this instant, we want to be happy or we want to be sad.  Do we want to be poignant, vulnerable, and insecure or do we want to hold the reigns of life and say ‘This is my time to shine!’ Do we want to reminisce and be nostalgic about past events, or do we want to be strong and take control of our lives with dignity and pride!

Take that step forward towards living your dreams! Make a difference, move towards your goals with poise, control, inner determination and strength!

But at the end of the day it is solely and truly our decision!

So what is it going to be…..? The choice is yours 🙂


This article has been written by an anonymous writer who would like to be known only as RC-77.

2 thoughts on “YOUR TIME STARTS NOW

Leave a comment